plume.pink

2024-10-13 03:04 42.126_dead

CONTENT WARNING: Discussion of the current genocide happening in Gaza.

You don't have to expose yourself to things that hurt you. Stay safe. ♥

I love Post-Rock. It's one of my favorite music genres, if not my favorite and I don't listen to enough of it. Well, I have a new band on my radar. I've just listened to this after hearing about it from Anthony Fantano. I don't watch all of his stuff but this peeked my interest and I'm glad I checked it out.

I won't say much about it other than: I recommend you listen to it while doing very little if not nothing at all. Like a lot of Post-Rock: it is a profound, even if deeply sad experience.

As you read from the title of the album, this is an album that, while it says very little words, has a lot of things to say.

Since October 7th 2023, at least 42,126 people have been killed in Gaza by Israel. 16,765 of them were children. These are the numbers of Palestinian Ministry of Health. On it's own, this death toll is horrific. But these numbers are estimated to be extremely under-estimated. And that is only since October 7th of 2023.

Israël's brutal colonialism over Palestine is nothing new, it's something that's been happening for more than 80 years while the world stood there and watch, while the governments of the western world not only turned a blind eye to the atrocities of an ally but gained profit from it. I don't have much more to say, other than stating this simple truth.

Israël's actions cannot be justified. It cannot be reconciled with it's long history of brutal colonialism over Palestine, nor with its more recent actions. And while there is nothing I, or probably you, can do about it, it's important to take a moment sometimes and remind ourselves that it is happening. For the simple act of caring. Of not letting these lives get snuffed out in absolute indifference. To watch and to remember, who is letting this happen despite having the power to stop it and who are the people still defending this, or worse, demanding it.

I want to believe that humanity is better than this.

Longer post than usual for the microblog, but the context called for it to be so.

⋅ ❤️🖤🤍💚 ⋅

#micro #posts